2020 Steering Committee

Carnela Hill - Chair

Wendy Coulter - Founder

2019 Steering Committee

Brenda Harris - Chair
Wendy Coulter - Founder

2018 Steering Committee

Wendy Coulter - Chair/Founder
Sarah Glova
Lorelai Kraft
Pam Williams

2020 Selection Committee

Johnny Bass - Chair
Member of NFIB/NC Leadership Council
& NFIB USA/DC Leadership Trust

Carnela Hill
President Elect- NAWBO Greater Raleigh
CR Hill Design Group, LLC

Caroline Aponte
President Elect - NAWBO Charlotte

Elizabeth Cantino
Bank of America

Stephany Connelly
AppleOne Employment Services

Rebecca McCullough
The Women's Business Center of NC

Patti Williams
SCORE Raleigh

NAWBO-Greater Raleigh
2019-2020 Board

Olalah Njenga - President
Carnela Hill - President-Elect
Wendy Coulter - Past President
Sherry Elliott - Secretary
Jess McLamb - Treasurer
Shelli Tench - Membership Chair
Paulina Bohorquez - Corporate Partnership Chair
Kathleen Volandt - Professional Development Chair
Janice Cutler - Programs Chair
Emily Parks - Advocacy Chair
Carena Lemons - At Large

2019-2020 Board

Brenda Harris - President
Carolina Aponte - President-Elect
Marise Kumar - Past President
Carol Bondy - Secretary
Mindy Hinson - Public Policy
Nicole Milone - Member Services
Beth Miller - Member Services
Elaine Piraneo - Chapter Expansion 
Laurie Johnson - Chapter Expansion
Nicole Reina - Education
Michelle Smith - Treasurer
Trish Saemon - Special Events
Deborah Hodge - Community Relations/ Corporate Partnerships
Caryn Lee - Mastermind Group Coordination
Lisa Jordan - Administrator

The Third Annual NC Women's Business Owners
Hall of Fame Gala will be held in Raleigh in June 2020.

Details to come.


Details on hotel and room block coming soon.


“It is so important that we recognize the women trailblazers in our state’s entrepreneurial community who have made this possible. Our goal is to empower women to open and grow businesses, as well as advocate for women as significant contributors to the business community in our state.”

Wendy Coulter, 2018-2019 President NAWBO-GREATER Raleigh

According to the American Express 2017 Women Owned Businesses Report, over the past 20 years (1997–2017), the number of women-owned businesses has grown 114% compared to the overall national growth rate of 44% for all businesses. Raleigh, NC is one of the top ten cities showing the highest employment vitality — employment growth rate from 2002 to 2017 and average numbers of employees.

Launched in 2018, the North Carolina Women Business Owners Hall of Fame honors North Carolina’s most successful female entrepreneurs and advocates who have made significant and enduring contributions to impact women’s entrepreneurial development in North Carolina.

This initiative is in coordination with NAWBO-Charlotte, the Small Business Administration and many other North Carolina organizations.