11 Women Inducted into NC Women Business Owners Hall of Fame 2018 Inaugural Class

women business owners hall of fame

The NC Women Business Owners Hall of Fame, held on Thursday June 14, honored 11 NC women who have made a significant impact on the state’s business community

RALEIGH, NC – JUNE 18, 2018

The National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) Greater Raleigh Chapter and Charlotte Chapter, two local advocacy groups for women entrepreneurs, came together to launch the NC Women Business Owners Hall of Fame on June 14th at The Mayton Inn in Cary, NC. The event was held to honor North Carolina’s most successful female entrepreneurs and advocates—women who have made significant and enduring contributions for women’s entrepreneurial development in North Carolina.

Over 50 women were nominated for this special inaugural class. The criteria for induction into the Hall of Fame emphasized the descriptors “significant”, “enduring contributions” and “impact” on women’s entrepreneurial development. The criteria also required that inductees have a meaningful connection to North Carolina (such as place of birth, education, and/or business location) and have demonstrated leadership qualities or a spirit of entrepreneurial innovation that will serve as an inspiration to future generations of North Carolina entrepreneurs.

The inaugural 2018 Class of the North Carolina Women Business Owners Hall of Fame included:

Leah Brown 
Mary Cantando 
Linda Craft 
Barksdale “Dale” Halton 
Elizabeth Nisbet Miller 
Sheila Hale Ogle 
Gloria Shealey 
Janice Bryant Howroyd 
Sara Garces Roselli 
Mildred Council (“Mama Dip”) 
Secretary of State Elaine Marshall, Advocacy Award

The selection committee included Marise Kumar, the NAWBO-Charlotte 2018-2019 President; Johnny Bass with NFIB and Bass Business Solutions; Elizabeth Cantino, with WBON Cary and First Citizens Bank; Joe Magno with NC COIN; Patrick Rodriguez with the Small Business Administration; Cameron Calderwood with Bank of America; and Briles Johnson with the Women’s Business Center. The committee worked closely with Lorelei Kraft, who supported the launching of a similar program in Minnesota.

The sponsors of the 2018 NC Women Business Owners Hall of Fame included Atlantic Tire & Service, Capital Auto Group, The Banks Law Firm, La Farm Bakery, Burns & Bynum CPAs, Cary Florist and North Raleigh Florist, C&H Insulation, Christine Jones Jewelry, Donna R. Cohen Attorney at Law, Halftone Studios, Gaskill Realty, Hummingbird Creative Group, Pendo, Lifetime Asset Management, Print & Web Designer, The Mayton Inn, Paradox Consulting Partners, Renew Day Spa, Promoquest, Roper Bookkeeping, and Reify Media.

2018 nominees will be considered for the 2019 class, and new nominations will be accepted next spring. Currently, the NAWBO chapters plan to host the 2019 event in Charlotte.

About NAWBO – Greater Raleigh Chapter 
Founded in 1978, NAWBO-Greater Raleigh has championed women business owners for 40 years with purposeful connections—connections to education, mentoring, networking, authentic relationships, strategic partners, and so much more. As a local chapter of a national organization, NAWBO-Greater Raleigh is a powerful resource for connecting and building long-term relationships with other women entrepreneurs, with businesses of all sizes and from all demographics and business sectors, share resources and best practices, and more. NAWBO-Greater Raleigh’s vision is to propel women entrepreneurs into economic, social and political spheres of power worldwide. For more information, visit http://nawbo-raleigh.org 
About NAWBO – Charlotte Chapter 
In 1999, the Charlotte-based women’s organization WBO joined the National Association of Women Business Owners to become NAWBO Charlotte. Today, NAWBO Charlotte is the only organization specially designed to serve, support, and strengthen the 42,000 women-owned businesses in the greater Charlotte, NC metropolitan area. For more information, visit https://www.nawbocharlotte.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *